Dog Hub

Answering questions about your canine companion

Grooming Tips: Nail Clippers Part 2

Leave a comment

Scissor Style Nail Clippers

The third option is the scissors style clippers. These clippers are made for puppies, very small dog breeds, and cats. They act just like the pliers-style clippers they are just a smaller version. Safari makes these as well and the larger ones.

Safari Nail File

The fourth option is the grooming file. This is typically used to file down the tips of dogs nails if they’re sharp and uncomfortable. This is a manual version. I’ve personally used this, and I think it worked very well for my dogs with smaller nails, but my dogs with thicker nails needed to be filed with a dremel.

Dremel 7300

Lastly there is the dremel. This is an electric version of the grooming file. They are usually bought for household projects, but the cordless ones work very well on dog nails. My personal favorite is the 2-speed Dremel 7300. It’s pretty simple for longer nails use the high speed and for shorter touch-ups use the low speed. This option allows for you to get closer to the kwik without cutting into it. I use this in my own home, and at my work with client dogs and it works very well. When you buy it, it arrives with everything in the picture above along with a wall charger for the battery.

Author: doghubblog

19 years of experience owning dogs, and almost 2 years working as a kennel technician, I'm always looking to learn more and educate. I'm currently applying to become a training apprentice at my job so I can become a trainer. I grew up in a small friendly town in Washington State, and have always loved animals. I hope to go to animal behavioral college and to also become a certified veterinary technician. I love advocating for the voiceless, and support rescues and shelters, and spay/neuter. I've always known I want to have a career with animals, and hope to one day open my own training business specializing in aggressive behavior.

Leave a comment